Government Leadership Award

The government awards programme has been expanded into a suite of four awards. In 2013 the GSMA’s Government Mobile Excellence Awards will recognise world-class leadership in the establishment of sound telecommunications regulatory policies and practices, based on clear principles that encourage private investment, such as policies that support transparency, competition and regulatory independence.

The 2013 award ceremony will take place during the Government Mobile Forum in February. This year’s judging panel features GSMA board members and industry executives, world leading academics, and industry experts.

The four award categories are:

7a. Government Leadership Award
This discretionary award is an honour chosen by the GSMA Director General.

7b. Spectrum for Mobile Broadband Award
This award will be presented to the government that demonstrates the most transparent and stable long-term spectrum policy roadmap in 2012-13.

7c. Best government policy for mobile development
This award recognises policy and development environments that have successfully fostered the mobile revolution in the developing world.

7d. Best m-Government initiative
This award is for the government who has embraced mobile technologies as an opportunity to leverage the potential of mobile to improve government initiatives.

For further information please visit

Past winners

In 2012, the GSMA presented the Honourable Minister of Communications for the Republic of Colombia, Diego Molano, with the mobile industry’s prestigious annual Government Leadership Award. The award recognised the Government of the Republic of Colombia for its role as a regional and global leader in managing what is now one of the world’s scarcest natural resources – spectrum. The exemplary vision and courage of its policy makers in devising and implementing its ICT strategy Vive Digital made the Colombian Government stand out as the 2012 Government Leadership Award winner.

Watch the winning video of the Government of the Republic of Colombia.

Prior winners include Afghanistan (2011), Kenya (2010), France (2009), Egypt (2008), India (2007), Pakistan (2006) and Brazil (2005).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *