GSMA’s Global Mobile Awards 2008 – Now Open for Entry

The GSMA’s Global Mobile Awards enter their 13th year with an official call for entry to the 2008 programme today. The awards deadline is 30th November 2007.

Recognising best in class mobile services for consumers such as mobile entertainment, including gaming, music, video, advertising and social networking plus enterprise services, handsets, technologies, innovation and marketing, the Global Mobile Awards 2008 will be presented at the mobile industry’s biggest annual event, the Mobile World Congress (formerly the 3GSM World Congress) in Barcelona next February.

“These awards celebrate the very best achievements in an industry that continues to push back the boundaries on a daily basis,” said Rob Conway, CEO of the GSMA. “The categories for 2008 have been specially designed to recognise the wealth of innovation and ingenuity from all corners of our eco-system that contribute to the continued growth, diversity and vitality of mobile communications.”

The spirit of the industry in terms of its social and economic contribution is captured in the ‘Bridging the Digital Divide’ Award, created to demonstrate the unique role of mobile communications in connecting people, communities and nations throughout the world, a poignant theme in the GSM industry’s 20th anniversary year.

The awards will be judged by independent analysts, journalists and subject matter experts, the winners will be announced on Tuesday 12th February 2008 at a gala dinner at the National Palace in Barcelona, during the mobile World Congress.

The 2008 categories are as follows:

Best Mobile Entertainment

  • Best Mobile Game
  • Best Mobile Music Service
  • Best Mobile Video Service
  • Best Mobile Social Networking Service
  • Best Mobile Infotainment Portal for News/Entertainment

Best Mobile Services

  • Best Mobile Enterprise Product or Service
  • Best Mobile Messaging Service

Best Mobile Handset or Device

  • Best Mobile Marketing & Promotion Best Broadcast Commercial
  • Best Mobile Advertising

Best Use of Mobile for Social & Economic Development

Best Technology

  • Best Network Quality Initiative
  • Best Service Delivery Platform
  • Best Billing or Customer Care Solution
  • Best Roaming Product or Service

Full category, rules, entry forms and details about the gala dinner can be found at

The GSMA’s Mobile Innovation Global Awards are now part of an ongoing Mobile Innovation Marketplace designed to help the thousands of small and medium-sized companies who are developing innovative mobile products and services, reach mobile operators and bring their innovations to end-users globally.

The Mobile Innovation Global Awards are also now open for entry with the same deadline of 30th November 2007.

From the innovation award entries, the GSMA will endorse the ‘Top 50 Innovators’ that, in the view of the judges, will help fuel new growth opportunities for operators and investors alike. All 50 will be invited to pitch to the Mobile Innovation Market at the Mobile World Congress, where ten category winners will be selected, and one overall Mobile Innovation Winner will be announced at the Global Mobile Awards gala dinner. More information can be found at:

The Mobile Innovation Global Awards categories for 2008 are:

  • Most Innovative Device Centric Technology
  • Most Innovative Carrier Infrastructure or Platforms
  • Most Innovative Mobile Application in a Vertical Market
  • Most Innovative Consumer Application or Service
  • Most Innovative True Mobile Start-Up

About the GSMA:
The GSMA (The GSM Association) is the global trade association representing more than 700 GSM mobile phone operators across 218 countries and territories of the world. In addition, more than 200 manufacturers and suppliers support the Association’s initiatives as key partners.

For further information contact:

Mark Smith or David Pringle
Tel: +44 78 50 22 97 24 / +44 79 57 55 60 69
Email: [email protected]